Siirry pääsisältöön
Näyttää siltä, että selaimesi on Internet Explorer 11 tai vanhempi. Selainta ei tueta, joten käytä muuta selainta.

Information seeking

Xamk academic databases

Content

Ebook Central Academic Complete offers more than 200 000 multidisciplinary e-books.

Use

ProQuest Ebook Central instructions for use

Ebook Central Academic Complete user rights.

Youtube-video: Search for a Book on Ebook Central

 

Content

EBSCO hosts multiple academic databases. EBSCO offers high-quality articles licensed from reputable publishers chosen to meet the specific needs of researchers.


Academic Search Elite

Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

More information


APA PsycArticles

APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

More information


APA PsycInfo

The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.

More information


CINAHL

CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981.

More information


SPORTDiscus with Full Text

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1930, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

More information


Use

On EBSCO, select "Choose Databases" to choose databases for searching.

For information about the database, searching tips, searchable fields, definition of fields, publications authority file, subject terms, authority file and index browse, please select:

Academic Search Elite more information
APA PsycArticles more information
APA PsycInfo more information
CINAHL more information
SPORTDiscus more information

EBSCO Lisence Agreement


Youtube tutorial: Introduction to EBSCO


Youtube tutorial: Creating an advanced search on Ebsco

 

 

Content

About 1400 ebooks from Finnish publishers.

Use

Ellibs quick guide for different devices.

Content

Journals and peer reviewed articles from multiple fields of research.

Includes following Emerald collections

2012 Emerald Engineering eJournal Collection, Emerald Business, Management and Strategy eJournal Collection, Emerald Engineering eJournal Collection, Emerald Fulltext, Emerald HR, Learning and Organization Studies eJournal Collection, Emerald Health and Social Care eJournal Collection, Emerald Library & Information Sciences eJournal Collection, Emerald Management 175, Emerald Operations, Logistics and Quality eJournal Collection, Emerald Public Policy and Environmental Management eJournal Collection, Emerald eJournal Premier Collection, Strategy & Leadership.

Use

Emerald tutorials and quick guides.

Emerald Premier user rights.

A video guide to Emerald searches.

 

Content

Finna.fi is a search service that collects material from hundreds of Finnish organisations under one roof. Using versatile search functions, you can easily access millions of items, free of charge. About finna.

A shortcut to research-based knowledge.

Use

How do I search for matrial on Finna.fi?

Content

Finto.fi is Finnish Thesaurus and Ontology Service.

Finto.fi is a centralized service for interoperable thesauri, ontologies and classification schemes for different subject areas. You can use Finto.fi to browse vocabularies.

About Finto.fi.

Use

Browse the available vocabularies and ontologies or search with your search term in upper right corner search field. On search results page you will have broader concept, narrower concept, terms of the concept in other languages.

Content

ForestBioFacts is a digital learning platform for the wood industry. It covers everything from wood-based products and technologies to sustainable forest management. Bio-based nanomaterials, wood-based textiles, environmental management and investment planning are also featured. ForestBioFacts also includes an introductory theme, open to all, which gives a good overview of the potential of the forest bioeconomy and its role in addressing global challenges.

Use

Login: www.forestbiofacts.com > Sign in (Log in with your ForestBioFacts ID)

Create an account for the ForestBioFacts learning environment. Use your Xamk email address.

You will receive a confirmation email containing the ForestBioFacts password. You can change your password on the ForestBioFacts website under my account.

Passwords are for the personal use of Xamk employees and students and may not be shared.

How to use ForestBioFacts is available on the Introduction to forest-based bioeconomy page.

Before using, please read the ForestBioFacts - General Terms and Conditions of Use.

Content

PressDisplay provides access to approx. 7000 newspapers and magazines from 146 countries in 63 languages. Access to the publications on the day they are published. Access extending 60-90 days from the publication date.

Use

Explore the PressReader Help Center.

PressReader user rights.

PressReader Youtube tutorial: How to select, search and read publications on PressReader?

Content

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 33 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Source: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/

Use

PubMed User Guide.
Welch Medical Library Youtube-channel PubMed-lectures.

Welch Medical Library Youtube tutorial: PubMed: Basics of Searching

 

Content

Sage Premier provides full text access to 927 subscription based journal titles in the SAGE collection. Full text is generally available from 1999.
Subject areas include Health Sciences, Humanities, Business and Management, Science, Education and Engineering.

Use

An introduction to SAGE Journals (PowerPoint)

Sage Journals training resources.

Sage Premie user rights.

Content

MOT Kielipalvelu®

MOT Kielipalvelu® offers all of Kielikone’s language tools in one package: all the MOT Sanakirjat® dictionaries together with the prestigious MOT Kielitoimiston sanakirja, the unique MOT Nykysuomen etymologinen sanakirja, and a wide selection of dictionaries by Oxford University Press and NE (Nationalencyklopedin), MOT Kääntäjä® (quick and handy machine translation), and MOT Kielentarkistin® (always useful proofreading and spellchecking). In the future, we will introduce, for example, more high-quality dictionary content. Source: https://www.sanakirja.fi/legal/our-content

Use

Get access. Choose your organization, enter the email address you use in your organization and click Get a login link. Finalize your account by setting a password. With a password, you can easily log in to the service later on at www.sanakirja.fi – whenever and wherever.

Content

Elsevier Science Direct Freedom is an interdisciplinary collection of scholarly journals.


Physical Sciences and Engineering

Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy, Engineering, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy.

Life Sciences

Agricultural and Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Environmental Science, Immunology and Microbiology, Neuroscience.

Health Sciences

Medicine and Dentistry, Nursing and Health Professions, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutical Science, Veterinary Science and Veterinary Medicine.

Social Sciences and Humanities

Arts and Humanities, Business, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Psychology, Social Sciences.


Use

Tutorials for ScienceDirect.

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection user rights.

Content

SFS stands for Finnish Standards Associaton https://sfs.fi/en/.
Through SFS Online you can search and open SFS standards in PDF format. The service also includes individual ISO and IEC standards.

SFS Online contains SFS standards in electronic format from different disciplines. Includes all translated and English-language SFS standards available in electronic format. Swedish-language standards are also included.

Please note that SFS Online does not include the English-language SFS-EN electrotechnical standards and the ISO and IEC standards published in the original language.

Use

Browse standards from the top menu. SFS contains all SFS standards. ISO and IEC contain a few standards purchased separately.

Search from the "Search full content" search box by number or word search. A predictive quick search will show you standards with the exact term you are looking for in the title or title. For more search results, click the "Search" button.

You can use any browser to search for publications, but PDF files must be opened in Adobe Reader. Protected files will not work when opened directly in a browser. You can also open an already downloaded publication in Adobe Reader from the downloads folder of your browser or computer.

SFS Online user rights
 

Content

Open Repository Theseus - the theses and publications of the Universities of Applied Sciences on the Internet. Theseus is a service provided by Arene ry - the Rectors' Conference of Finnish Universities of Applied Sciences. Theseus gives you online access to theses and publications from Finnish Universities of Applied Sciences. You can read and utilize entire theses and publications in your own research and development work - or just get acquainted with those.

Xamk publications and theses in Theseus.

Use

Theseus search instructions.

Databases and user rights

General terms of use for Xamk e-resources and databases


Permitted use

The user may:

Browse and search for information

Print out on paper or save for personal study or research use, to a reasonable extent, the results of searches, individual articles or parts of texts from e-books

Send individual articles by e-mail or in hard copy to another person for personal use in the name of scientific communication

 

Prohibited use

The user may not:

Use the material or any part of it for commercial purposes

Distribute, sell, modify, create derivative works from or give the material to any person other than those entitled to use it

Remove or alter the names of authors or the publisher's copyright or other identifying information or prohibitions contained in the material

Use software that automatically copies material

Systematically copy or print material on paper or republish material in any other form

 

If the e-resource does not open, what should I do?
 

Always log in via the database/e-resource link at Https://kaakkuri.finna.fi.


Please note that sometimes the direct link provided to you in the Learn course will not work, but you can access the material by opening it via Kaakkuri.


Always log in with your Xamk username (Learn-tunnus). Exceptions: ForestBioFacts and Sanakirja.fi (MOT Language Service).


Open the material in another browser, e.g. if you use Firefox, try Chrome, etc.


Delete browser cookies.


Use private or invisible browsing. Select in your browser settings:
 

Chrome: New incognito window
Edge: New InPrivate window
Firefox: New private window


Open the data on another device, e.g. your mobile device or another computer.


If you are using a VPN, this may prevent access to the databases in some cases.


In the HAKA login, if you cannot select the organisation (South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences), go to: https://haka.funet.fi/shibboleth/WAYF > In English. In "Remember selection permanently and bypass the WAYF service from now on. Select the organisation you are affiliated with", choose "South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences" and then "Save".


If your problem is with the e-book reader Adobe Digital Editions, see the support site for the software: https://helpx.adobe.com/support/digital-editions.html


Short periods of downtime are possible. Please wait a while and try again. For longer periods of downtime, we will inform you on the Kaakkuri homepage.


Leave a service request for the library on Xinfo https://xinfo.xamk.fi/

Saavutettavuusseloste | Accessibility statement